Wednesday, May 20, 2015

New Testament- Lesson 77

Matthew Chapter 10- Part 1

Jesus chooses and ordains 12 disciples (Matthew 10:1-4)(Mark 3:13-19)(Luke 6:12-16)- Luke writes that before Jesus took this major decision to choose and ordain 12 disciples whom he named apostles (apostle-one who is sent away, emissary, messenger), he spent a whole night in prayer. When it was day, he went up on a mountainside and called his disciples to him and chose 12 of them, to be with him, so that he might send them out to preach. He gave them power against unclean spirits (devils/demons) to cast them out, and to heal all kinds of sicknesses.

Matthew names Simon Peter as the first disciple chosen and then names the others. An easy way to remember the names of the disciples is Simon, Simon, James, James, Judas, Judas, Mathew, Thomas, Andrew, John, Philip, Bartholomew (Nathanael).

2 Simon are Simon whom Jesus named Peter (brother of Andrew) and Simon Zelotes or Simon the Caananite.
2 James are James, the son of Zebedee (brother of John) and James the son of Alphaeus.
2 Judas are Judas Iscariot (who later betrayed Jesus) and Judas (Lebbaeus, Thaddaeus) (brother of James)

Jesus surnamed James and John, sons of Zebedee, as Boanerges, which means "the sons of thunder."

No comments:

Post a Comment